NEW DURHAM BUDGET COMMITTEE New Durham Town Hall February 3, 2020

Final Approved 6-10-20

Present

Terry Jarvis, Chair Ellen Phillips, Budget Committee Member Ken Fanjoy, Budget Committee Member Ron Uyeno, Budget Committee Member David Swenson, Selectmen's Representative

Excused Absence

Mark Sullivan, Vice Chair Joan Swenson

Call to Order

Chair Jarvis called the meeting to order at 7:02 PM. She stated the sole reason for tonight's meeting would be to discuss any financial changes made to the 2020 Town Warrant during the Deliberative Session.

MOTION: To recess the Budget Committee meeting until the conclusion of the deliberative session. (Jarvis/Phillips) VOTE: 4-0-0. The Budget Committee recessed at 7:04 PM

The Budget Committee returned from recess at 10:05 PM. They were joined by David Swenson, Selectmen Representative.

The Deliberative Session changed the amounts of money in Article 4 (Operating Budget) and Article 9 (Capital Reserve Funds) so the Budget Committee needs to determine if they still recommend the articles, as revised.

Article 4. The Operating Budget was increased by \$ 5,000 from \$ 3,205,062 to \$ 3,210,062. The Budget Committee had no objections to the revised figure.

MOTION: To recommend Article 4 in the revised amount of \$ 3,210.062, (Jarvis/Fanjoy) VOTE: 5-0-0.

Article 9: The line item for the 1772 Meetinghouse Restoration was increased by the Deliberative Session attendees from \$ 10,000 to \$ 25,000. This brings the amount for Article 9 to \$ 35,000. The Committee Members were divided on the increase with some in agreement while others felt there has not been sufficient efforts made towards developing a public/private partnership.

New Durham Budget Committee Meeting February 3, 2020

MOTION: To recommend Article 9 in the amount of \$ 35,000 with the 1772 Meetinghouse Restoration being funded at \$ 25,000. (Phillips/Fanjoy) VOTE: 2 (Phillips/Fanjoy) – 3 (Jarvis/Uyeno/Swenson) – 0 Motion FAILED.

<u>Adjourn</u>

MOTION: To Adjourn. (Fanjoy/Swenson) VOTE: 5-0-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:26 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Terry Jarvis, Chair