DRAFT MINUTES

Milfoil and Invasive Aquatic Weeds Committee

Minutes of the Meeting May 18, 2016 6:30 PM New Durham Town Hall

Present: Art Hoover, Sue Hoover, Aline Goss, Cynthia and Fred Quimby, Tom Rogenski and BOS member David Bickford

Absent: Bill Meyer

- 1. Call to order: Fred Quimby convened the scheduled meeting at 6:30PM at the Town Hall. The minutes of the January 20, 2016 meeting were read and discussed. Sue moved and Cynthia seconded a motion to accept the minutes. The vote for approval was unanimous.
- 2. Fred reported Amy Smagula (NHDES) will survey both Jones and Downing ponds on June 6th. She will issue a report on the infestation levels of aquatic invasive species in the ponds, and recommend a remediation plan.
- 3. Fred has reviewed the states list of scuba divers who have been certified to pull milfoil. Three reside in New Durham.
- 4. This year the NHDES has removed Downing Pond from the list of water bodies infested with aquatic invasive species.
- 5. Fred reports a Health Canada study finds there is no health or environmental issues associated with the herbicide (2-4D). This is the primary herbicide used in the treatment for invasive aquatic weeds in New Durham.
- 6. Fred was asked by Amy Smagula to participate in the Lakes Congress, sponsored by the New Hampshire Lakes Association, on June 3rd at Church Landing in Meredith, NH. He reviewed his answers to the proposed questions regarding the organization and functions of our committee.
- 7. This summer a systematic review of the water bodies in New Durham will be completed. Any suspect plants will be placed in marked bags corresponding to a map of that body of water. The specimens will be submitted to Amy and classified as invasive or native.

Art will survey Coldrain Pond

Aline will survey Chalk and March ponds

Fred will survey Merrymeeting Lake

Bill will survey Downing Pond

Don Holm will be invited to survey Shaws Pond for the Committee.

8. Sue moved and Cynthia seconded a motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 7:08PM by a unanimous vote.

Respectfully submitted, Tom Rogenski, Secretary